A few days ago I purchased a domain name on OVH with a free 100 MB hosting plan. But it’s already full. I therefore subscribed to the starter 1 GB plan. However, this created a new hosting space and I can’t use the 1 GB (I see that 182 MB is already taken even though I’ve never accessed it).
How can I merge them? I can no longer upload anything or update. I opened a ticket with technical support but haven’t received a response.
It is possible to change hosting plans, for example from a Personal plan to a Pro plan (or vice versa), but you cannot switch to a Starter plan. So in your case you needed to purchase a new plan.
Regarding the quota of the Starter plan, the used space is most likely the data of a one‑click module that you may have automatically installed when you bought your plan. You can confirm this by also accessing the FTP
The fact that both hosting accounts are on the same cluster will prevent you from linking your domain name to your new Starter offer.
Feel free to back up the Start100M hosting offer and the mail box linked to this offer, then proceed with its cancellation.
You can then create a support ticket to request accelerated removal of the Start100M offer or request this removal via live chat or by phone.
Thanks again for your help. Following fritz2cat's message about the difficulty with the same cluster, I managed to reach support by phone. The deletion of the old hosting was indeed accelerated and I was able to link my domain to my new hosting. I uploaded everything into the www folder just like with the previous hosting, but I end up with a blank index page showing the directories of my site, and to access my site I have to go to https://italiapp.fr/www/. In a hurry, I uploaded everything a second time to the root... Is that a problem? Should my site be at the root or in www, and if the latter, how can I make my address point to that folder?
Excerpt from my guide at the very beginning: Most paragraphs are common to all CMSs, all sites. Only the K, L, and W paragraphs are more specific to WordPress.
But I quickly removed the modification and my site is uploaded twice—both to the root and to the www folder.
I can’t find in the guide how to have www in the root folder.
Yes, I saw it, but I don’t know how to add www in the "root folder" column. I tried clicking on … to add www in the folder, but it deleted my site (previous screenshot), so I have no idea what to do now.
Yes, I did it right after the capture. My site didn’t crash like earlier. There was a “.” pre‑written; I wonder if I put the www after the “.” or if I replaced it with www. A HUGE THANK YOU GASTON!!!! for taking the time to help me.
I don’t want to use WordPress; there are already 182 MB used on the site before I upload. Can I delete them without worry, or are they files needed for the site to work?